Life Update

Today I officially returned to the Catholic Church.

I was baptized into the church as an infant, but later ended up getting rebaptized as a freshman in college when I was still seventeen. A very fundamentalist campus ministry convinced me that my infant baptism had not been valid šŸ¤£, and so I ended up becoming a Protestant for a bit more than the next twenty years. Reading the work of Fr. Richard Rohr and David Bentley Hart showed me I no longer needed a Protestant faith in order to thrive spiritually and intellectually as a Christian.

I confessed the creed before Father Paul & Father Carlos this evening. A few talks with Fr. Paul preceded this, of course, but that is all it took for me.

I can now say I am a Roman Catholic. Iā€™m happy, but I know this ā€œconversionā€ of sorts can be viewed both as a joyful event and also as a triggering event, depending on peopleā€™s religious experiences and convictions. Like the Ethiopian eunuch, today I too went home rejoicing. Thanks be to God.